Library Homepage: Database List: Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times

To read, search, and browse unlimited full text news articles from New York Times (1980-present) on campus. To access New York Times off campus, and to utilize all features NYTimes.com offers, such as mobile apps, recipes, videos, and saving articles on your account, etc., register for a NY Times.com Pass with your SUNY Rockland email address. To access articles before 1980, please use ProQuest Historical New York Times (1851-2009).

Related Subject Guides

Daily Newspapers
by Clare O'Dowd Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 456 views this year
Newspapers at RCC
by Clare O'Dowd Last Updated Oct 13, 2025 14 views this year

Newspapers Online

Find Local Newspapers, International Newspapers and US Newspapers Online

at http://newspapers.com

Newspaper & Magazine Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education
Newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals.
EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
Financial Times
Access to standard FT content, FT app, plus an option to receive daily digest emails. Sign up by using your RCC email address. Please note this is accessible ON CAMPUS ONLY.
GALE General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Gale OneFile: News
Full-text newspaper resource that allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes mages, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
GALE New York State Newspapers
Search the 28 newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
GALE OneFile: Popular Magazines
Includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

HRVH Historical Newspapers
Digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region.

MasterFILE Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest, with full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags (via Ebsco).
New York Times (with RCC account)
Full text unlimited access on free accounts created with RCC login.
ProQuest Historical New York Times
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to the last 4 years.
Wall Street Journal
Create an account on WSJ.com using your RCC email and to access full-text WSJ articles from 4 years ago to today.

Databases by Vendor

ACS Publications
Access abstracts and select full-text articles from the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Alexander Street Academic Media
Britannica Academic
Encyclopedia Britannica: full-text encyclopedia, journal, and magazine articles, primary sources, images, and videos.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals.
EBSCO
Financial Times
Access to standard FT content, FT app, plus an option to receive daily digest emails. Sign up by using your RCC email address. Please note this is accessible ON CAMPUS ONLY.
GALE
HarpWeek
Provides original Harper's Weekly texts.
JSTOR
An archival journal collection of Arts & Sciences, and Language & Literature. JSTOR searches ARTstor simultaneously providing images that correspond with your search terms.

The ARTstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. ARTstor's content, key resources, and functionality have been moved to JSTOR. To access ARTstor, click browse on the upper right-hand of the page and select images from the dropdown menu.
Kanopy
Streaming video platform for libraries and educational institutions. Includes documentaries, classic and indie films, and courses.

New York Times Pass
For unlimited full-text access to the New York Times off-campus. Create an account with RCC email credentials.

OverDrive Digital Library
Downloadable eBooks, Music, Videos, and Audiobooks for your eReader or computer.
Ovid Nursing
Nursing journals collection. Titles include: AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Nurse Educator; Nursing & others.
Oxford Academic Biology & Life Science journal collection
Use the facet on the left side to limit results to content you can access in full-text.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Search the OED for definitions, pronunciations, and word origins.
ProQuest Historical New York Times
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to the last 4 years.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a streaming video resource for the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection has footage of top clinicians and academics explaining and demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment.
ScienceDirect
Offers access to scholarly science journals including the fields of business, management, accounting, and economics.
Statistical Abstract
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. online.

Swank Motion Pictures
Swank Motion Pictures Digital Campus streaming online

Wall Street Journal
Create an account on WSJ.com using your RCC email and to access full-text WSJ articles from 4 years ago to today.
Wiley Online Library
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.