Library Homepage: Database List: eBooks & eFilms

Databases for eFilms

Alexander Street Press Academic Videos
Online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines.
Films on Demand
Provided by Films Media Group, this Films for Humanities collection is a leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Kanopy
Streaming video platform for libraries and educational institutions. Includes documentaries, classic and indie films, and courses.
Swank Motion Pictures
Swank Motion Pictures Digital Campus streaming online. Full-length licensed movies, including feature films.

Publicly Available Streaming Video Sites

Youtube.com - The most popular video streaming website, YouTube, has thousands of videos on nearly every topic imaginable, all user submitted and free to watch.

Vimeo.com - Vimeo is a sophisticated, free video sharing website. Basic users are allowed to upload up to 500MB of video content per week, or pay for an account to upload more. Vimeo attracts a wide array of video artists, and is often used to upload short movies, skits, and portfolios.

Metacafe.com - Metacafe rocketed to popularity with their page view money earning system. Many videos on the website are duplicates from YouTube, but in addition to that content, there is a wide array of video tutorials on many subjects, including: DIY hacks; magic; and science experiments.

Databases for eBooks

OverDrive RCC's Digital Library
Downloadable eBooks, Music, Videos, and Audiobooks for your eReader or computer.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Now includes eBook Academic Collection
Project Gutenberg
Over 40,000 free ebooks available to download to your device or read on your computer.

Flipster
Access full color issues of digital magazines: Time, Newsweek, Consumer Reports, Consumer Reports Buying Guide 2015, Bloomsberg Businessweek.

Publicly Available Book Databases

Project Gutenberg
Over 40,000 free ebooks available to download to your device or read on your computer.
Google Books
Contains out of copyright, free works as well as paid content. Be sure to check that the entire work is available as many books are only a preview.

Off-Campus Access

Your RCC email account username and password provide you access to all library databases when you are off campus. Use the assigned login name and your password for off-campus access to the library databases.

You can also RESET YOUR PASSWORD from the myRCC page or by calling/texting the ITS Help Desk at 1-877-241-1823.

Databases by Vendor

ACS Publications
Access abstracts and select full-text articles from the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Alexander Street Academic Media
Britannica Academic
Encyclopedia Britannica: full-text encyclopedia, journal, and magazine articles, primary sources, images, and videos.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals.
EBSCO
Financial Times
Access to standard FT content, FT app, plus an option to receive daily digest emails. Sign up by using your RCC email address. Please note this is accessible ON CAMPUS ONLY.
GALE
HarpWeek
Provides original Harper's Weekly texts.
JSTOR
An archival journal collection of Arts & Sciences, and Language & Literature. JSTOR searches ARTstor simultaneously providing images that correspond with your search terms.

The ARTstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. ARTstor's content, key resources, and functionality have been moved to JSTOR. To access ARTstor, click browse on the upper right-hand of the page and select images from the dropdown menu.
Kanopy
Streaming video platform for libraries and educational institutions. Includes documentaries, classic and indie films, and courses.

New York Times Pass
For unlimited full-text access to the New York Times off-campus. Create an account with RCC email credentials.

OverDrive Digital Library
Downloadable eBooks, Music, Videos, and Audiobooks for your eReader or computer.
Ovid Nursing
Nursing journals collection. Titles include: AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Nurse Educator; Nursing & others.
Oxford Academic Biology & Life Science journal collection
Use the facet on the left side to limit results to content you can access in full-text.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Search the OED for definitions, pronunciations, and word origins.
ProQuest Historical New York Times
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to the last 4 years.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a streaming video resource for the study of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology. The collection has footage of top clinicians and academics explaining and demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment.
ScienceDirect
Offers access to scholarly science journals including the fields of business, management, accounting, and economics.
Statistical Abstract
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. online.

Swank Motion Pictures
Swank Motion Pictures Digital Campus streaming online

Wall Street Journal
Create an account on WSJ.com using your RCC email and to access full-text WSJ articles from 4 years ago to today.
Wiley Online Library
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.